SOC Sunday: Undistracted free time? What’s that?

#SOCsunday This is my first time doing Stream of Consciousness Sunday in a while, and this is a great prompt from Fadra. Of course, it mostly prompted me to ramble, but I was distracted, see?

Today’s prompt: When you sit down to write a post, do you get dedicated, devoted time? Are you surrounded by distractions, mental or physical?

When I first read Fadra’s prompt for today, my immediate reaction was, “Ha. Hahahahaha. Oh, that’s funny.”

I really don’t get a lot of undistracted writing time, but when I do I like to crank out several blog posts at once. I think that’s probably how a lot of moms do it.

A good example of what my writing time usually looks like: As I sit here now, I have a cup of coffee on my right and a babbling baby on my left. He is saying, “Ma ma. Na na nu nu. ah ah ah ah.” And he’s throwing every toy I hand him into the floor. Pleasant. And incredibly distracting.

I also write a lot of posts during my lunch hour at work. That’s a little less distracting, but there’s always the potential for being interrupted since I’m still working away in my office. It’s a little easier though.

There are those rare nights where I set aside time after Noah’s asleep (usually on nights when Bobby has gone out to do something), and I feel like I probably get the most writing done on those occasions. Of course, I’m also easily distracted without extra help from baby or hubby, so I often turn to the internet, television or a book (Harry Potter, of late …so worth the re-read) to put off writing.

And there’s likely the crux of the issue. I would get a lot more done if I wasn’t a procrastinator and a bit lazy. I like to waste time doing mindless stuff. Part of it might be because I write as a profession, so I spend a lot of my work time writing. But the bigger part really is just that I fill my time at home — my free time, mind you, not time with Noah and Bobby — with sort of pointless stuff a lot of the time.

Well, now I need to figure out what to do about it. I guess it’s good that I’ve put it out there, but I kind of feel like I’ve put it out there before and nothing’s changed. So hopefully I will be able to start making some small changes. Eh, who knows?

*************************

This was my 5 minute Stream of Consciousness Sunday post. It’s five minutes of your time and a brain dump. Want to try it? Here are the rules…

  • Set a timer and write for 5 minutes.
  • Write an intro to the post if you want but don’t edit the post. No proofreading or spellchecking. This is writing in the raw.
  • Publish it somewhere. Anywhere. The back door to your blog if you want. But make it accessible.
  • Add the Stream of Consciousness Sunday badge to your post.
  • Link up your post at All Things Fadra.
  • Visit your fellow bloggers and show some love.
6 responses to “SOC Sunday: Undistracted free time? What’s that?

  1. Since I am now unemployed I find that my brain is more charged and ready to go in the early morning. My son loves watching Scooby Doo so while he watches an episode, I hit the keyboard. Then I wait till nap time…then when ever I can.
    It’s super sporadic. But the one thing i don’t do is blog at night…cause I like my beauty sleep ;)

    • Yeah, staying up late to blog is definitely a rarity for me. I really don’t usually have time on weekday mornings, either, because it’s such a race to get out the door, drop Noah off at daycare and get to work anywhere close to 8.

      Something that’s throwing a wrench in the works currently is that he’s going through a major clingy phase and really only wants me most of the time. So when we are both home, even if Bobby is here, too, it’s hard for me to put him down unless I am actively engaged in play with him (while he’s awake, anyway).

  2. Ha, well I missed the prompt or I’d have written an entirely different post. Love “I would get a lot more done if I wasn’t a procrastinator and a bit lazy.” I’m would say the same of myself. I have all these great intentions and put them on the table and a fraction get done. I’ve learned to be ok with this. I figure if it’s a real priority it will happen, and the big ones do. I just wrote my SOC, it just after 6p on Sunday and my hubby just got the grill going. Burgers are already made in to patties, so I have to be up a few. Meanwhile, daughter is practicing piano, I can here her, the laundry is going and I’m thinking of all the other things I have to do tomorrow, like taking X-mas down that didn’t get done this weekend, lol. OH, and I hear you, about the POINTLESS stuff.
    T

    • Yeah, and it’s hard sometimes to rationalize writing for my blog at the expense of doing other things around the house. And sometimes when I am writing, the to-do list I’ve got going in my head is as big a distraction as anything else.

  3. I used to do that too writing during the lunch break or early in the morning when everyone is not there yet :D

  4. Your post reminded me of my biggest distractions. When I have quiet time alone, I can get so much writing done IF…

    My biggest distractions are Twitter and Facebook. If I go on either place, I quickly forget what I was doing (like I just forgot I was reading SOC posts!)

Show me some comment love!

