Working with style: Wet pants edition

No, I did not wet my pants. Well, I did, but only in the sense that I put them in the washer.

And forgot to put them in the dryer.

As a work-outside-the-home mom who has recently struggled with some weight gain (thanks, anti-depressants!), one of my big challenges is keeping the clothes that fit clean so I can wear them when I need to. And last week, I just got behind.

Thus the wet pants. I had washed clothes the night before, but I guess I went to bed before they were done. I put them in the dryer when I got up, thinking that surely they would be dry in an hour.

Guess again.

So then I had a few options: I could wait for them to finish drying and be late for work; I could wear them to work damp; or I could find something else to wear. I went for option 3, which basically meant I was scrounging around for something that was clean and seasonally appropriate. Thank goodness for a mild winter, because I would’ve been out of luck or freezing otherwise.

WWS 2/11

Top: Old Navy
Skirt: Gap
Tights: Target
Shoes: Clark’s

**********************

I’m linking up with Brandy and Liberating Working Moms for Working with Style. Stop by and check them out!

8 responses to “Working with style: Wet pants edition

  1. I love this outfit! You look great!

  2. Chelle Moser Newton

    OMG, I have that top from Old Navy!!!! I never would have thought of wearing it with a skirt.

    I am also struggling with weight issues after a hysterectomy and it is all around my middle. I also have fibromyalgia, so my skin is extremely sensitive to the feel of tight clothing. Do you have any particular brands or types of pants that fit you well and are comfortable? If so, PLEASE share. I’ve been looking for two years now and the only jeans I have found that I can begin to tolerate are Gap 1969 MATERNITY jeans. Oy!

    Chelle
    http://www.lifeonthedomesticfront.blogspot.com

    • I have a really tough time these days finding pants that are comfortable in the waist but not too big elsewhere. I’ve had luck with some pants from Lane Bryant, but even there not all pants are created equal. I usually get my jeans from Old Navy, but they are typically a little roomy in the butt, hips and thighs. I have one pair of Mossimo plus-size jeans from Target that are really comfortable, but I’ve never found another pair like them. And I think that pretty much sums up all the pants I own that currently fit.

  3. Chelle Moser Newton

    Oh, I should also mention that I am on anti-depressants too, as well as Lyrica, which causes weight gain. Between the total hysterectomy and all the drugs, I’m a mess around my waistline!

    • I came off anti-depressants about 2.5 months ago (I was taking them for postpartum depression), and I think I’ve done a little more emotional eating than I should have in that time (plus it was around Thanksgiving and Christmas, so I had an extra excuse). I’m feeling a lot better, but those habits are so hard to break.

  4. I love the color combo! And there’s nothing wrong with wearing fun bright colors in the winter…helps brighten things up!

  5. Ugh…I hate when that happens.
    Actually once I did where them to work damp because I truly thought that they’d dry…but in reality it only made for soggy panties and a grump kim.

Show me some comment love!

