Update on previous entry

So after taking the home pregnancy test this morning, I rushed over to my doctor’s office to confirm the pregnancy. I know it’s pretty rare for a positive test to be wrong, but I wanted to be absolutely sure. So I took the test … and it came back negative. I was pretty crestfallen. The physician’s assistant who administered the test told me that I shouldn’t count myself out yet and that she would draw blood and send it off to get my hormone levels tested.

She took four blood samples and told me she would call me this afternoon. So I spent the rest of the day incredibly nervous. Buuuuuuuut … she called me around 3:30 with GREAT news!

I am officially two weeks pregnant, which I take to mean two weeks past the conception date. I think the PA was a little surprised that I tested positive this early, but I did! I have to go back to the doctor’s office on Monday to repeat the bloodwork and make sure all my numbers still look good.

As for how I’m feeling right now … well, excited, obviously! I’m still a bit freaked out, because I’M GOING TO BE A MOM. That’s a little scary! I’m also a little nervous, because I know the coming weeks are the most sensitive parts of pregnancy, when things can go wrong more easily. I was talking with my friend Katrina earlier about all the things I’m not going to be able to eat for the next nine months, and ultimately it came down to this: It’s going to be worth it. All the worry early on, the sickness, the cravings, not being able to eat or drink some things that I really love — all those things will be absolutely worth it in the end.

(This was originally written on July 9 and posted on Sept. 29, 2010)

Show me some comment love!

