A good beginning (AKA Baby’s first books)

Bobby and I both love to read, and we really want to instill a love for books and reading in our child, as well. One of the ways we hope to do that is by reading to Baby from a very young age; honestly, one of my goals is that our little one will not go a night without being read to from the time he or she is born until at least the age of 10.

We’ve sort of halfway been keeping an eye out for children’s books to start a small collection for our baby, so when we saw that the clearance table at Barnes & Noble had quite a few kids’ books on it this weekend, we dove in headfirst! These books were 75% off the retail price, plus an additional 10% that we get for having a B&N member card. Altogether, we got six books for about $13.50.

Here are the books we got:

When I Feel Kind/When I Feel Loved/When I Feel Angry – These are three separate books that are part of a set that’s designed to teach children about different emotions and self-esteem. Super cute, and we love the message in each of them!

Amazing Animals – This is a cutesy book that goes through a fun list of cartoon animals, from pandas and koalas to cats and dogs.

How Big is the World?HBitW is my favorite book that we got. It has great illustrations, and the moral of the story is that the world is as big as you want it to be.

On Our Way Home – A really sweet story of a baby bear spending an afternoon with his daddy.

I’m definitely pleased with this start to the baby library, and I’m looking forward to adding to it. If you have suggestions for books to add to the collection, please comment and let me know what they are!

3 responses to “A good beginning (AKA Baby’s first books)

  1. Amy Your Favorite Sister Lockard

    I recommend Good Night Moon and the collectors edition of The Velveteen Rabbit. The Kissing Hand is also very good.

  2. I am going to guess that since you are way better at couponing/saving money than I ever will be, you already know these things… but, just in case:
    – Every other Saturday, you can get a bag full of books at the Friends of the Library at the TPL for $5! Sometimes you have to hunt for GOOD kids books, but it never hurts.
    – I have hit MAJOR book finds at garage sales in Huntington Place. I don’t know what it is about that neighborhood, but they’ve stocked 1/2 of my classroom library!
    That’s all I’ve got. The Florence Public Library (in North Alabama) is my favorite place to shop for books… so if you’re in that neck of the woods, stop there! I usually load up around 20+ books for less than $10 – and they’re GOOD books!

    Happy shopping!!!

    • This is a great suggestion, and I hadn’t even thought about it! I’ll be hitting up the library book sale soon! Thanks for the idea!

Show me some comment love!

