Breast feeding thoughts #2

First, thanks to all who read and provided feedback and stories and encouragement related to breast feeding. It’s been a tough couple of weeks, and this has been weighing heavily on me.

After weighing everything as best I could and talking it over with Bobby, I’ve decided to suspend breast feeding and pumping for the time being. I have been incredibly stressed since Noah was born — to the point that it’s been making me physically ill. I battled the flu-like infection the week he was in NICU and the following week, and I’ve been dealing with some massive stress and anxiety since he’s been born. It’s been a combo of being a new mom, having a baby in NICU, being sick, the situation with my dad, Noah’s digestive issues and not really having enough sleep. But it’s literally made me unable to eat, and when I do, my stomach hurts constantly.

We also found out this afternoon that Noah’s sodium is still low, which means he is on a special formula at least until they can get it balanced out.

This was not an easy decision, but I need to be able to function and be happy and actually enjoy Noah. I made the decision this morning, and it’s at least helped some today. If I am able to pick it back up once I am physically and emotionally feeling healthier, I likely will, but for now I am, as Bobby put it, making the best decision I can for Noah and me.

6 responses to “Breast feeding thoughts #2

  1. It sounds like you are doing the right thing. Breastfeeding isn’t worth it if it is making you sick. Noah will be fine and you can always try again later if you decide you want to.

  2. You need to just do what is right and healthy for both of you. Please do not feel bad/guilty/sad over this. You are doing everything right for him! The most important thing is that you tried and he did receive so much benefit from the breastmilk!

  3. It’s always better for the baby to have a happy mother. If breastfeeding is stressing you out, it isn’t healthier for either of you. I am all for breastfeeding, but there ARE some times when it’s better not to do it. I would have given up many times if I had to work or if I didn’t have the support I did or any number of outside influences.

  4. Noah needs you more than he needs breastmilk, so I definitely think you’re making the right choice. I am proud of you! I know it’s a hard decision to make 🙂

  5. You are doing the right thing! Try to take some time to walk or just get out of the house alone if you can. It’s so consuming in the early days and you have had so much stacked against you. Take care of Misty!
    This could be the turning point. You gave it a shot and you move forward. There’s no doubt that you wanted to do this but again, it’s such a small part of the whole picture. He got the most important part of the breast milk, the first early days. Now it’s time you get your strength back, physically and mentally. All the rest will fall into place.
    I’m just say’n…

  6. I just want to say, there is a reason Carolyn is an advice columnist (or was – don’t know if that segment is still around). She is a wise lady! Listen to everything she says! 🙂

Show me some comment love!

