Tapas!

This past weekend was a first for me: I went to a tapas party!

My friend Melissa invited a few of our girl friends over for tapas and drinks. We each brought a different dish. I had been eyeballing a particular zucchini recipe on Pinterest, so I made that. Well, actually I sort of combined two recipes. Here’s what my recipe ended up looking like:

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup dry Italian breadcrumbs
  • 1/2 cup grated fresh Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper to taste
  • 2 eggs, whisked
  • 2 zucchini, 2 yellow squash, cut into 1/4″ slices
  • Cooking spray

Preheat oven to 425, and spray a large oven pan or cookie sheet with cooking spray. Combine first four ingredients in a large bowl. Dip zucchini/squash slices in whisked eggs, then coat in bread crumb mixture. Place the coated veggies on the cookie sheet and bake for 10 minutes. This recipe is adapted from here and here.

I served the zucchini with four-cheese spaghetti sauce that I had on-hand at home. I found the recipe to be pretty simple, if a little messy. I think these would substitute great in an eggplant/chicken parmesan recipe (so it’d be zucchini parmesan). I’m totally on board for any type of pasta recipe!

As for what the other girls brought, it was all delicious! Jesse made an apricot-ricotta-honey crostini deal that I am obsessed with. Seriously, I think about it multiple times a day. I think she is going to write down the recipe for me soon. I might make it every week.

Natalie brought a feta dill dip and pita chips, which I somehow neglected to get a picture of. It was really good, too! I liked the tanginess of it, and I’m a big feta person anyway.

Melissa made several different types of crostini with meat, cheese and tomato sauce and also one with salted chocolate (I’m drooling a little just thinking about it). She also had some fresh fruit and Manchego cheese. My favorite thing from Melissa was her Sangria, which is always a hit with me.

It was weird leaving the kiddo at home and heading off to Birmingham with the girls, but it was really relaxing and nice to have some away time. We had a fun time with the girl talk, looking through photo albums and eating to our hearts’ content!

Meanwhile, Noah got his first taste of guy time at the house. Bobby had some guy friends (and Eliza, Chris’ and Natalie’s little girl) over to grill out. From the sound of it, Noah had a good time being passed around to all his “uncles.” He even dressed for the occasion in his “Daddy’s Little Wingman” onesie that our cousin Kim sent to him.

On the way home from Bham, I got to show off my ninja driving skills when we got a flat on the interstate. Thankfully we were fine, but there was a little damage to the car when the tire shredded. We eventually made it home in one piece thanks to Michael Whitworth coming to the rescue!

Show me some comment love!

