THE Jeans (AKA, Death to the Post-Partum Flab)

I think a lot of women have that one pair of jeans they wish they could fit back into. I happened to find this pair of jeans at my mom’s house when we visited July 4 weekend.

They’re Boyfriend jeans from Gap. I’m not actually sure when the last time I fit into them was. Honestly, it was long before I was pregnant, a few years at least. But these are some seriously comfy jeans … when they fit properly.

I’ve never been one to get super motivated by numbers. Typically when I’ve tried to “lose weight” in the past, I end up getting discouraged after a while when the numbers aren’t going down as quickly as I’d like. I obsess, weigh myself too often and tend to quit when my workouts just don’t seem to be paying off on the scale.

Sure, I have a ballpark figure in mind of what I’d like to lose in the long run. But these pants are a great motivator for me, especially because toning in my hips, thighs and tummy will help me reclaim my pre-pregnancy shape. If you’ve had a child, you know your body is way different after, and it’s hard to get back to somewhat-normal.

Overall, I’m trying to have the outlook that I will not focus on numbers if I can help it. I tend to be able to see a difference in my measurements much more quickly than on the scale anyway, and I can obviously measure the amount of exercise I’m doing and how well I’m eating.

All that being said, I started (re-started after a long hiatus, really) the Couch to 5K program this week. I’d tried it before and actually did run a 5K (using the term “run” loosely there … mostly walked) in February 2010, just a few months before I got pregnant with Noah. The program had already sort of fallen by the wayside, and I kicked it completely to the curb when I got pregnant. I feel like now’s a good time to pick it back up. What I like about it is that it’s progressive. I’m out of shape, so the first week is challenging to me, but it’s not un-doable.

So far I’ve only done one day of it, and it pretty much kicked my butt. I got up early and ran near our house and actually made myself sick, so I’d say maybe I overdid it a bit. I also forgot to stretch before I ran, so I’m mega-sore. I’m hoping to do the C25K workouts 3x a week and mix in some strength training that I can do with Bobby, too.

I’m also trying to do a better job of making healthy food choices. I got into a pretty bad habit while I was pregnant of eating just about anything I wanted. My metabolism was fantastic during pregnancy, and I didn’t gain a lot of weight. But now I need to cut back on the sweets and snacks and focus on fruits and vegetables. It’s not necessarily eating the fruits and veggies that’s a problem; it’s more staying away from cookies and chips and ice cream. One positive step we’ve taken so far is that we are eating out far less. Bobby has really taken the lead in this and is already doing a great job of eating healthier himself. So that helps with the motivation factor, too.

I know it’ll be hard work to get into better shape, but the effort will be so worth it. I’ll be able to enjoy Noah more, and I’ll feel better in general.

Here’s a picture to keep me motivated and accountable:

That’s me currently in “THE Jeans.” Can’t even come close to zipping and buttoning them, and they are about 2″ below my waist line because I had a hard time pulling them over my hips. They are about 2 sizes smaller than the size I’m currently wearing. My plan is to take the same picture again in a month for comparison and monthly subsequently to keep myself motivated.

I’d definitely appreciate any encouragement or accountability anyone wants to provide!

7 responses to “THE Jeans (AKA, Death to the Post-Partum Flab)

  1. woo hoo!!! go misty bell!! i totally agree with you on the numbers thing. i have been doing bootcamp for 5 weeks, training for a 10k (that i just ran) and playing soccer for 2.5 months and I have lost 1 yes ONE freaking pound. that said, my flab isnt as flabby, my tummy is flatter and my clothes fit better. my muffin top is shrinking and my cottage cheese is whats for breakfast – not whats on my thighs! I am confident the numbers will {eventually} show, but until then, I am feeling better and if nothing else a bit healthier! you are right. Noah wants a healthy momma! Keep it up girl!

    • Yay, Lauren! Thanks for the encouragement! I think the hardest thing right now is finding time since I have been having to leave my house at 7 every morning to drop Noah off and then not getting home until 6. I’m just trying to make getting exercise a priority, and Bobby is going to help with dropping off/picking up Noah some, too.

  2. I’ve never commented before but I just wanted to make a suggestion with your stretching-it can actually harm you to stretch before you run…you should really warm up with jumping jacks or a few sprints first-run and stretch after. I’ve trained for a half marathon and this worked lovely! Good Luck! This is motivating me to get up off my arse! 🙂 Love the blog! BTW this is bunintheoven from TB! 🙂

    • Thanks for the tips, Kelly! Glad you commented … I am soooooo sore from the first day of the workout, so I’ll try your suggestions next time and see if they help.

  3. Awesome plan Misty! And I totally agree about numbers. Stay away from that mess- cause as you workout along with eating right, your body will increase in muscle tone as it burns fat so your number can actually go up a little even as your inches go down.
    But you’ll know you’re doing well cause clothes will fit better and you’ll feel so much better!
    Also, I agree with Kelly- stretching is very beneficial afterwards and loosening up is what’s beneficial prior to running.
    Look forward to the blogs updating your accomplishments.

  4. I had the same problem of eating whatever I wanted while pregnant, and I discovered I could keep doing it while breastfeeding, so I was in a loooong-standing habit of eating whatever I wanted (LOTS of ice cream!). Then once Ruby started eating more solids and I was making less milk, I started gaining weight. Oops. Finally put the brakes on the gaining in March when she weaned and have been working on getting back to pre-pregnancy weight since then. I have four pounds to go! Then I want to lose 22 more before my vacation to New Orleans in November (that’s kind of an arbitrary goal, but it helps me to have goals). I want to start trying to get pregnant again in February, so I just want to get as small as I can before then to make it a little easier on me next time (my back KILLED me for about 7 of the 9 months).

  5. Pingback: Update: THE Jeans |

Show me some comment love!

