Couch to 5k: A (minor) setback and proof that I’m getting old

I knew as soon as I woke up this morning that I would not be going out for my C25k workout because the simple act of rolling over left me in serious pain.

Yeah, I apparently jumped into the workout routine with a little too much enthusiasm this week. I mentioned the other day that I might have overdid it a little, and apparently that little bit was more than I thought.

After hobbling around the house this morning, unable to take care of the baby and having to support myself with walls, I decided just to go on to the doctor. Here’s the gist of what she said: You just had a baby a little over three months ago. Slow down a little bit, Mama!

Thankfully she doesn’t think there’s anything major wrong, just muscles that haven’t been used in that way in a while tightening up and putting strain on my lower back. She gave me a couple of prescriptions to help and also told me three stretching exercises to do four times a day. And she told me she wants me to keep exercising but to scale back what I’m doing.

So it looks like I will be taking a few steps back, but I’m not going to let that keep me from being active. The doctor said I could go for walks until my back is feeling 100% better and then to cut my running time in half when I start back in C25k. I hate that I can’t push myself as hard as I would like, but like she reminded me, my body is still recovering from a pretty major occurrence (giving birth), and I need to take it a little easier!

Show me some comment love!

