App review: C25K Lite

This is what the C25k Lite app looks like. Pic from androidappsforfree.com.

Upon deciding last week that I would be starting back on Couch to 5k, I knew I would need/want an app to help me keep track of my running times.

If you’re unfamiliar with the C25k program, it basically is interval training that helps those of us like me who haven’t been doing a ton of exercise work their way up to being able to actually run a 5k. Week one involved five minutes of walking for warm-up, then alternating running for 60 seconds and walking for 90 seconds for 20 minutes, then 3.5 minutes of cool-down walking time.

I downloaded the C25k Lite app on my Droid, mostly because it was the first free Couch to 5k app I was able to find in the Android Marketplace. I believe it also has a paid version, but I’m a cheapskate, so I went for the basic one.

It’s a pretty simple app, and it was definitely helpful for what I needed it for. No bells and whistles, though. It basically has a timer that is set up to coordinate with what day of the program the runner is on. You start the timer when you start your workout, and it dings when it’s time to swap from running to walking and vice versa.

While the app did allow me to time my workout the way I wanted to, I may consider buying a better one if I am able to stick with the C25k program for an extended period. I know some of the apps that are available allow you to use music from your phone as workout music while still getting notifications for when to change your activity. I also would like an app that lets me know how far I’ve actually gone. It’s not exactly Couch to 5k if I’m only running 2k.

Altogether, I’d say it’s good … for a free app. Not everything I want in my C25k app, but I can’t really complain since it didn’t cost me anything!

Disclaimer: I was not paid or asked to write this review. This is just an app I found and thought others might find a review helpful.

Show me some comment love!

