App review: My Fitness Pal

The MyFitnessPal logo from dietmotion.com.

As I mentioned in my previous post about the C25k Lite app, I am a cheapskate. In attempting to eat better and get in better shape, I wanted to keep up better with what I’m eating during the day and also how much exercise I’m getting over time.

I had seen a few friends on Facebook mention using MyFitnessPal, so I actually looked this app up by name. It has a large database of food and exercise that you can enter, and it will calculate calorie and other nutrition totals for you. You can tell the app how much weight you would like to lose per week, as well as your current weight and your height, and it will build your daily “allowances” around that. For example, I entered my weight and height and told it I would like to lose 1 lb. per week (even though I’m really not focusing that much on weight loss so much as being healthier overall). It told me how many calories I could eat each day to do that (1780); when I enter exercise, it adds the total number of calories I burn to the total I’m allowed for the day. When I enter food that I’ve eaten, it subtracts those calories from my remaining total.

MyFitnessPal also is available online, and the phone app and website sync the information based on your account name.

A screen shot of what MyFitnessPal looks like on a phone, from ajwood.com.

Overall, I like the MyFitnessPal app. It’s fairly easy to use, and I like that it’s sort of tailored to what I want to do. I also like that I can enter or view my info on my phone and online. It also has a quick-enter option where I can just enter the number of calories I’ve had.

My only complaint is that it’s sometimes hard to figure out what item to select for the food calorie counts. I believe MyFitnessPal allows users to enter their own specific items, then pulls those items into its database. So, for example, the other day I wanted to enter that I ate a Mission flour tortilla, but I had to sift through about 10 different options before I found the one that matched the calorie count for what I’d actually eaten.

Again, though, this was a free app, so I can’t really complain! I will probably stick with this one rather than looking for one to buy because I think MyFitnessPal is more than sufficient for what I’m using it for.

Disclaimer: I wasn’t asked or paid to write this review. I just thought someone else might find the info useful!

Show me some comment love!

