Setting goals and joining the 3in30 Challenge

I may be prouder than I’ve ever been of Bobby.

One of his goals (you could even call it a dream) is to be a published novelist. But all too often life gets in the way, he finds excuses not to write or he gets down and out because he hasn’t reached his end goal yet.

Not this past week. This past week, to quote him, he “wrote like a boss.” I can’t even remember the exact number of words he wrote in just 7 days, but it was a lot — easily more than half of the YA novel he finished last night.

Yup, that’s right. He finished it.

I’m proud of him because he set aside the things that have kept him from writing (and ultimately from making his goal of publishing a book a reality). He quit making excuses and got to work. That’s admirable, and it paid off because he finished the first draft of a work that I think is pretty darn good.

The hard part about this is that the success he’s had this past week is nudging me in a not-entirely-pleasant way. Because I do the same things when it comes to my goals. Especially the big, really-want-these-to-happen ones.

So it’s time for me to stop with the excuses and to follow in my hubby’s footsteps.

Erin at $5 Dinners posted today about the 3in30 challenge, which is a link-up I had never heard of. It’s a great idea and a good way to get some accountability for goals. Basically, I will set three goals for this month, and I will update here about how things are going at least once a week. Setting these short-term goals will help me reach my long-term goals.

My first goal is to exercise three times a week. It’s not a lot, but I’ve been having such a hard time getting motivated and finding time. I think three times a week is more than reasonable. My first step toward this goal is one I’ve already taken: I signed Bobby, Noah and me up for a family membership to PARA, which is the county parks and recreation system. PARA has several facilities where we can go to work out and swim, and I’m excited to get started!

Second, I want to finish my Pinterest Challenge project this month — the whole thing. This may be difficult for me, but I think setting a deadline for myself may be a big help. I’ll be posting more in the next few days about what all this will entail. I’m excited about it, but I also know if I let myself sit on it too long I will just get overwhelmed by the scope of what I have in mind.

Finally, I plan to keep my meat-eating to my evening meal only. My initial idea was actually to go vegetarian for the month of August, but I wasn’t ready to deal with all the meal-planning that would come from me not eating meat while Bobby still is. The point of this is for me to focus on getting more fruits and vegetables into my diet.

We’ll see how this goes in August!

2 responses to “Setting goals and joining the 3in30 Challenge

  1. Good luck with your goals!

Show me some comment love!

