#TopTenTuesday: Items I’d like to add to my wardrobe

Top Ten {Tuesday}

So I’ve realized recently that I’ve fallen into wearing excessively drab clothing. I’m not sure when or how this happened. My first inclination is to blame it on becoming a mother … you know, not having time to fix myself up any more and having what’s basically a completely different body shape from what I had about two years ago.

But I think that’s not really accurate or fair. This has been a more gradual development. As I’ve gotten older and more career-oriented, I’ve let my fun-fashion side take a backseat to serious Misty. I have failed to find ways to incorporate pretty patterns and colors into my work wardrobe, and it’s spilled over into my personal wardrobe, too. I’m spending way too many weekdays in black pants, a black or gray cardigan sweater, a black tank top and black flats. Seriously boring.

On that note, here are a few fun items I’ve pinned recently that I’d looooove to add to my wardrobe to spice it up a bit (all photos link to source):

1. Thalassic coast striped flats, Ruche, $37.99

These are fairly casual, but I could actually see sporting these at work sometimes. I’m sort of in a position where I can get away with a little bit of casual/funky flair from time to time. But I would definitely love having these to pair with jeans in the fall!

2. Color swatch scarf, Anthropologie, $48

I’m a total sucker for a good scarf, and I love the colors in this one. One of the nice things about it is that it could easily dress up some of my more drab outfits with bright, fresh colors. I think, though, that it would take a lot for me to part with $48 for a scarf, no matter how pretty.

3. Multi smudge print bandeau maxi dress, ASOS CURVE, $112.05

I really, seriously loooooooove this dress. I think I would wear it every week for the rest of my life.

4. Long Stem Spectrum Blouse, Anthropologie, $138

Unfortunately, Anthro doesn’t make clothing in my size, so I’ll just have to keep on dreaming about this one for the time being.

5. Antilles Tank, Anthropologie, no longer available


There’s actually a super-easy tutorial on Pinterest for how to make this top, and I think I’m going to give it a go! I’ll probably try it with a stiffer fabric first. This is one of those that, in this type of fabric, could work great for work or casual.

6. Chelsea Crew Flower Sandals, Ruche, $49.99

No longer available in my size, but I think these are so cute!

7. Mossimo red ruffle patent ballet flats, Target, $12.99

At $12.99, these would actually have a chance at making it into my wardrobe in the near future — if they had my size. *Sigh* I can lose weight, but there’s nothing I can do about my size-10 feet.

8. Merona Dalton Woven Dress, Target, $39.99

I love this print and am terrified of it all at once! It would take some guts for me to buy and put on this dress, but I have a feeling it would totally pay off. It’s a pretty great dress.

9. Ruffle front cotton dress, eShakti, $54.95

I’m not entirely certain how often I’d wear this dress, but it’d be a nice piece to have in my wardrobe for work events (since I work at the University of Alabama).

10. Black and white denim handbag, Etsy, $39.99

Yeah, yeah, it’s black and white, but I really like this purse! This would be another great addition to the wardrobe … as long as it was paired with something more colorful!

Have you had to give yourself a wardrobe overhaul? Did you go through a similar drab period after having a baby? I’d love to hear about it and any encouraging comments you want to share!

I’m linking up with Oh, Amanda for this Top 10 Tuesday and hope you will join in on the fun, too!

2 responses to “#TopTenTuesday: Items I’d like to add to my wardrobe

  1. Can I say that I LOVE everything you posted on here?! You need to be my personal shopper because I would (if I could) wear or use all of these! I think I’ll be following you on Pinterest. : )

  2. What a fun list! It’s hard to pick a favorite….but I love BOTH Anthro tops, the darling red dress, and the too-cute flower sandals. Oh, and the Etsy bag! How much does that add up to? No wonder it’s a wishlist and not a “buy” list!

Show me some comment love!

