Edit Me: Red Barn

Edit Me - Sept. 7

I’m not a pro photographer or photo editor by any means, but I typically know what I like, and I can usually get my pictures to look the way I want them to. It may not be a style anyone else likes, but it’s my style!

I really liked the picture Kathryn posted for this week’s Edit Me challenge, so I decided to give it a go.

The first thing I did (after cropping the photo the way I wanted) was play with the curves. I skipped the master curves and went straight to the specific colors to see what I could do to make the red, green and blue each stand out. I really like what I achieved with the grass and the barn especially!

I also worked on the exposure and saturation, bumping both of these up a bit. I used Photoshop’s Dry Brush filter to give the shot a sort of painted look. Finally, I ran a Brightness/Blue action (I can’t remember where I got this from!) twice in Photoshop.

Once I uploaded the photo to Flickr, I used Picnik to add a vignette and a matte to give it a bit more of a polished/framed look.

I’m happy with the way it turned out!

*Original photo by Jill Samter.

 

5 responses to “Edit Me: Red Barn

  1. This look fantastic! I love the crop, the colors, the frame and just the overall look. You did a really good job and I’m reminded how much I have to learn about photoshop!

  2. I love what you said about your style being yours. I need to remember that! Love the crop!

  3. So glad you know what your style is! That is so very important.

  4. great edit . . . and so much fun to see you taking the challenge 🙂 you are so right about figuring out your style and being faithful to it.

  5. I love that you know your own style and stick to that! I love your crop of this photo!

Show me some comment love!

