Hit the Ground Running: 100 miles in 100 days

Hit the Ground Running logo

So you may wonder what I’ve been up to during this month of Hit the Ground Running posts. And the honest answer is not a whole lot, unfortunately. But I have been thinking about goals, and that counts for something, right?

I finally made it back to the gym last night for the first time in several weeks, and it felt nice to log some time on the treadmill and elliptical. I didn’t want to overdo it since I hadn’t been in a while, but at the same time, I am signed up to run a 5k in November. I’ve got to get a move on!

While I was working out, I started thinking about motivation and tried to come up with some new ideas for getting myself to the gym. I have a pretty competitive nature but don’t necessarily like the idea of stacking myself up against a friend when it comes to weight loss and/or fitness. It just seems like a bad idea.

But stacking myself up against, well … myself? That might work.

I’m setting out to do something: Run 100 miles in 100 days. This should get me close to the end of the year, and I think it’s a more-than-reasonable goal — one that should fit in with the limited time I have for going to the gym these days. It’ll get me moving, it’ll give me something to work toward, and it will hopefully give me some motivation.

I’ve even put a little ticker in my sidebar so I can keep up with how much I’ve done. I’m at 2 miles so far!

Anyone want to join up on this challenge for accountability? This is not to pit me against you but to encourage you to stretch yourself and reach a personal goal. Let me know!

3 responses to “Hit the Ground Running: 100 miles in 100 days

  1. LOVE THIS! I may do the same thing….on my elliptical. Does that count? I haven’t used it in like 3 months, so this may be exactly the motivation I needed.

    • Totally counts! I did half of my workout on the treadmill and half on the elliptical yesterday. I know I probably won’t find time to work out every day, so I’m going to get in extra miles here and there when I can!

  2. Pingback: Not Just Babies » Wednesday Wishes

Show me some comment love!

