Pinned: Pioneer Woman’s Steakhouse Pizza

I’m finally getting back to a little cooking and tried a couple of new recipes this weekend that I wanted to share.

The first was the Pioneer Woman’s Steakhouse Pizza. I knew when I saw this recipe that Bobby would be a fan, so I bought the stuff to make it. I’d planned to make homemade dough, as well, but I ended up buying a pound of fresh dough from the Publix Bakery to save time.

This was taken before I added the steak sauce, but you get the picture. It was delicious!

I made a few adaptations to the recipe, so I’m going to share my version of it with you. I was thinking more along the lines of a Cheesesteak Pizza, and I think it turned out great! Click the link above to view PW’s original version.

Steakhouse pizza (makes ~8-12 slices)

  • 1 lb. pizza crust from Publix
  • ~2 lbs. of flank or skirt steak (I used flank steak)
  • Salt And Pepper, to taste
  • 1 whole yellow onion
  • 1 whole green bell pepper
  • 3 Tablespoons Butter
  • 3 Tablespoons Balsamic Vinegar
  • ~1 cup marinara sauce
  • 20 ounces, weight Fresh Mozzarella Cheesa
  • Shaved Parmesan Cheese
  • Steak sauce (I used Publix brand, which is similar to A1)

Bobby salted and peppered the steak and threw it on the grill until it was about medium while I prepped the dough and sauteed the peppers and onions in the butter and 2 tbsp of the balsamic vinegar. I made the sauce as directed by PW’s recipe and found it to be about twice what I needed, so I made adjustments in my recipe above. It was basically about a cup of marinara sauce (I used Market Pantry brand from Target) mixed with a tbsp of balsamic vinegar and about 1/2 tbsp of steak sauce (subbed for Worcestershire sauce because I didn’t have any … it worked fine).

Once these items were prepped, I topped the rolled out dough with a layer of marinara mixture, a layer of peppers and onions and a layer of sliced mozzarella. I put it in the oven for about 12 minutes and after that added the steak (thinly sliced once we took it off the grill) and some Parmesan and more mozzarella. I stuck it back in the oven for a couple of minutes to let the cheese melt.

I considered not adding steak sauce atop the pizza at the end, but I decided to take the chance, and it definitely paid off because it added some great flavor. We ate almost the whole pizza while we watched the Alabama game Saturday night!

Later this week, I’m going to share about the awesome cupcakes I made Sunday!

Show me some comment love!

