SOC Sunday: Ramblings

#SOCsunday

This is my first attempt at a Stream of Consciousness Sunday post, and it was a little scary. I made it through, though, and I think putting myself … including a few imperfections … out there like this is good for me. So here it goes!

**********************************************

I have to admit to being a little nervous about doing this whole stream of consciouslness writing thing. I find myself wanting to stop, think, edit. Because that’s what I do. I’m an editor.

I’m sitting here on a Sunday morning, watching Noah roll around in the floor, just kind of reveling in how good life. is. I’ve got some music on, and I think about how this is sort of a form of having church.

And now I’m stuck again. Seriously, this stream of consciouness thing is hard! I’m such a perfectionist and always have been. When I was a kid, I can remember very clearly loving being right and knowing things. My mom and Meemaw teased me by calling me Miss Correct-all. I think Correctol (sp?) was some sort of anti-constipation mediicne. Or something. Miss Correct-All was definitely not a compliment, and it made me thinkg that maybe being smart and knowing thinggs wasn’t such a great thing after all.

That’s sort of sad in many ways, because I was a fairly smart kid. I had an interest in knowing more and reading and writing and being imaginitive. I sort of miss those days. I rarely find time to read these days, and I want to. I sit down to write, and the words don’t come as freely as they used to. I’m scared of making mistakes, soudning stupid, not being good enough.

Welp, that’s pretty sad. And again, I’m finding myself getting lost for words. I just checked the timer and am cursing the fact that I’m a fast typer. Now I’m getting a little lost in the song that’s playing on iTunes, and it’s making writing a little more difficult.

Noah is playing with a book. I hope that he loves to read like I did when I was a kid, and like his dad still does now. I want him to know that knowing things and being creative and really just being a kid are valuable things that he shouldn’t feel bad about. I think a lot about the way I want to do things differently from what I experienced as a kid, but it’s hard. And my five minutes is up.

**********************************

This was my 5 minute Stream of Consciousness Sunday post. It’s five minutes of your time and a brain dump. Want to try it? Here are the rules…

  • Set a timer and write for 5 minutes only.
  • Write an intro to the post if you want but don’t edit the post. No proofreading or spellchecking. This is writing in the raw.
  • Publish it somewhere. Anywhere. The back door to your blog if you want. But make it accessible.
  • Get the badge and link up your post at All Things Fadra.
  • Visit your fellow bloggers and show some love.
9 responses to “SOC Sunday: Ramblings

  1. This is an interesting concept. Preparing for NaNoWriMo? I’d like to invite you to another writing exercise we host called Picture it & Write. My coauthor posts an image and starts the thread off with a paragraph of fiction inspired by the image. Other people comment with their own paragraphs, poetry, or thoughts. We post it every Sunday, but you’re welcome to contribute to any of the archived ones as well.
    http://ermiliablog.wordpress.com/category/picture-it-write/
    Eliabeth

    • Checking it out now. Thanks for the invite!

      I have mixed emotions about NaNoWriMo this year. I’ve tried it once before, and it was an epic fail, but I think it’d be good for me to at least get into the habit of writing again. I’ve got something I’ve already started that I might try to work through next month without being an official participant. I think my husband is going to do it, which I’m happy about.

  2. Hi Misty! Thanks for stopping my blog. It is difficult to do this right? I see you wrote a lot and I feel like I just wrote a paragraph. I miss reading too and try to make as much time for it as possible. Have a great week!

  3. Ahhh, beloved new friend! I noticed how you were commenting on all the SOCSunday blog posts (including mine) and I said, “This is a woman after my own heart”… anyone who considers sitting at the keyboard writing with musical accompaniment while her baby son rolls on the ground a form of church is a person worthy of friendship and lots of word-love. My son is playing with his WII behind me, its been ten years since he rolled on the ground near me while I worked at the keyboard. Life is good, indeed… and once you get the hang of stream of consciousness, you will be hooked.

    It does help your writing get better. 🙂

  4. It’s hard, this SOC thing, but I love it. Some weeks I find myself all philosophical in my 5 minutes. Then I have a Sunday like today, all jumbled up, random and making no sense. I’m fine with that.

  5. Welcome to SOC!! I hope you willbeback next week. I think we are a pretty great bunch of ladies that participate every week!! 🙂

  6. I love to read too and now it’s mostly in snip-its on line. I’m still working on a book I’ve been working on for months, maybe some day I’ll finish it. Keep up the great writing, I look forward to more!

  7. This was my first SOC Sunday too and I also found it hard. I love your idea of church too – very Emily Dickinson!

  8. I hope you were scared away from doing it again. I have to admit, I never have to watch the clock. I’m one of those sit-down-and-just-type sort of writers. Although I will admit, my writing would probably improve if I planned it out a little better. I personally think the exercise has made me a better writer!

    P.S. Correctol was a women’s “gentle laxative”

Show me some comment love!

