NaBloPoMo: The beginning

I had a great conversation with Bobby this weekend when we were road-trippin’ it about writing and this blog.

For those who don’t know, writing and editing is what I do for a living. I’ve worked as a newspaper reporter, a magazine editor and now a PR professional. It’s what I do.

But for some reason when it comes to writing here, things don’t always seem to come out the way I want them to. I’m a pretty good writer; I’ve won some awards, including a national one for a feature story I wrote a couple of years ago. It’s easy to write about other people. I start writing about me and my life, and I stiffen up, start over editing myself.

Bobby told me he can tell when I’m writing about something I’m really passionate about because the writing is significantly better, and I know it’s true. He says for me to be a really great writer, I need to attack the everyday stuff, the stuff I do sometimes just because I feel like I need to post (not like I need to write), with the same gusto I put into the things I care the most about.

And that’s a big challenge, but I know it’s one that’ll make my blog better, that will make me a better writer and that will make people want to read what I have to say here.

I’ve decided to challenge myself to write a blog post per day for the month of November. Not just a blog post — a good blog post. I’ve signed up for National Blog Post Month (NaBloPoMo, hosted by BlogHer) in hopes of keeping myself on track.

In a sense, I’m dreading it. There are days when I get home at the end of the day and the last thing I want to do is more writing. But if I want to be a better writer, it’s something I need to do.

Show me some comment love!

