Working with Style: Genius or cracktastic?

Occasionally I get this wild hair to really break outside of the box with what I’m wearing, and it either ends up great or tragic. The bad part is, I’m really not fashion-savvy enough to know the difference, so I’m sure sometimes I wear some hideous crap. It’s like I have no fashion filter.

Genius or cracktastic?

So … genius or cracktastic? I literally stood in front of the mirror and asked myself this  very question. And then I shrugged and continued getting ready, got Noah dressed and fed and left for work.

The pants are those same Lane Bryant pants that have appeared in my last two Working with Style posts. Pink tank is from Target, purple long-sleeved V-neck T-shirt and purple 3/4-sleeve sweater from Old Navy.

So what do you think? Is it awesome? Or am I totally one of those people who would be on What Not to Wear explaining how my fashion style is “eccentric” and “fun” while Stacy and Clinton watch me on video and make gagging noises? I’d really like to hear your opinions, so don’t just tell me that I look cute because you think it’s what I want to hear.

Here’s one part of the outfit that I was sure about, because I think these shoes are adorable:

Cute shoes

So, what do you think, interwebz? Am I a work-clothing savant? Or maybe verging on hopeless?

As always, linking up with Liberating Working Moms for today’s Working with Style post. Be sure to stop by there and check out Jess‘s new haircut!

 

 

 

10 responses to “Working with Style: Genius or cracktastic?

  1. I am in LOVE with those shoes! And I also happen to love layers. 🙂

    • Thanks! Layering is important at this time of the year in Alabama because we start our days nice and chilly (in the 30s) and end up in the mid-70s. I just usually tend to toss something gray or black over something brighter-colored, so when I start changing things up, I get a little nervous.

  2. I think you look cute! I HAVE THOSE SAME SHOES! Cheapies from Target, right? Aren’t they shockingly comfortable?

    • Yes, those are the ones! They are sooooo comfy. I’m not a big heels person, but the ones in the picture are wedges, and I love them.

  3. i approve. I always love mixing bright colors so the pink and purple is so something I would do. So if it’s wrong…I’m with ya sista!

  4. Dig the shoes too! And those layers…I need to do more of that to spice up my working outfits.

    • Thanks! I’m really happy that it seems like the risk paid off. And maybe really wasn’t a huge risk, but for me it was a step away from drab!

  5. I love the shoes and layering myself. I don’t adhere to ANY sort of fashion rules about mixing colours etc so I think it looks awesome all put together like that. My FAV colour combo is red and purple, or red and teal 😀

  6. Any mix of color is good in my opinion!

Show me some comment love!

