SOC Sunday: Joe Paterno deserved what he got

#SOCsunday
I had some trouble with this particular Stream of Consciousness Sunday post. It’s a little all over the place, and as you’ll see, I restarted it several times. It’s not exactly an easy topic.

I also have a bit of a different perspective on the whole issue as someone who works in media relations for a university. I’d say there are certain aspects of the issue I wanted to avoid, so this really is less of a straight SOC post than a bit of word vomit related to Joe Paterno and Penn State.

*********************************

I’m totally cheating on this SOC Sunday because I keep starting and stopping and restarting. This is such a tough topic, but it’s one I’ve been wanting to write about this week.

I don’t know everything that went down at Penn State, but I know it sure wasn’t pretty. A coach who had been there for decades and who most people believed would be there until he died got canned, and he deserved it, in my opinion.

The story, for those of you who have been living under a rock for the past week or two, is that one of Paterno’s assistants had been raping boys for quite some time. These were boys who had been attendees at football camps or part of some charity organization that the team sponsored (I’m a little unclear on the details of that). A “graduate assistant” (who was not some meek little geeky kid … he was a 28-year-old former PSU quarterback who had just tried out for an NFL team something like a week before this happened) witnessed Nasty McNasterson in the act of raping a little boy, and rather than trying to stop him or calling the police … the coward called his dad.

Eventually, the story moved up through the ranks, and basically no one wanted to take responsibility for it. No one wanted to risk his career or the “integrity” of the football program or the reputation of the university in order to protect little boys from a filthy pervert.

Saturday was PSU’s first game without Paterno since 1950, from what I read. Fans held a vigil outside his house. There were riots on campus. Penn State’s players pledged to give him the game ball if they won.

I’m glad they didn’t. Paterno may not have been the one doing the deed, but he allowed it to continue. I hate that a legendary coach like that had his career end this way, but it deserved to be ended, and I don’t think anyone should be mourning the loss of Paterno.

What people should be mourning is the loss of innocence for however many boys were raped in those hallowed halls of Penn State’s stadium (whatever it’s called). It’s pitiful that a person in power, who should be someone that’s looked up to, abused his power and abused those basically helpless little boys in such a way.

*********************************

This was my 5 minute Stream of Consciousness Sunday post. It’s five minutes of your time and a brain dump. Want to try it? Here are the rules…

  • Set a timer and write for 5 minutes only.
  • Write an intro to the post if you want but don’t edit the post. No proofreading or spellchecking. This is writing in the raw.
  • Publish it somewhere. Anywhere. The back door to your blog if you want. But make it accessible.
  • Add the Stream of Consciousness Sunday badge to your post.
  • Link up your post at All Things Fadra.
  • Visit your fellow bloggers and show some love.
One response to “SOC Sunday: Joe Paterno deserved what he got

  1. I have to admit that I have been living under a rock. It was earlier this week that I asked my husband to just summarize what was going on so I could understand all the emotions about it.

    Bottom line is it’s football. He was a coach. And we’re talking about the lives of little boys. That’s more important than anything. And that says more about who you are.

Show me some comment love!

