Thankful Series: Kathryn at Our tiny BIG life

Thankful seriesIt’s week three of the Thankful Series, and I’ve been thankful for the great stories my friends have shared so far! If you haven’t read the past two weeks, you can catch up here.

This week’s post is from Kathryn from Our tiny BIG life. Kathryn is one of those people I have just found myself drawn to from the first time I met her. I met her when she and her husband, Tall Guy, led worship at the church I was attending at the time. They seemed to have the most laid-back, happy attitudes, and it just made me want to get to know them better. And, of course, they have two adorable and well-behaved little girls!

So check out what Kathryn has to say about having a grateful heart, and be sure to stop by her blog, check out her beautiful photography and say hello!

**************************************

In case we haven’t met before, I’m Kathryn and I write a bit and post photos and various miscellany over at Our tiny big Life. I’m a mom to two {a.k.a. Banana and Moose} and wife to one {a.k.a. Tall Guy} and a daily recipient of undeserved grace.

I love Jesus and coffee and I hate being cold, so November is not exactly my favorite month . . . but, I do love my family and holidays and all the good food that’s just around the corner! So, since Misty asked me to guest post on the topic of “Thankful,” I’ll start by thanking God for the five pounds I’m sure to gain by Christmas 😉

DSC_1016HP

Gratitude is a subject near and dear to my heart. Just this summer, I read an incredible book by Ann Voskamp, One Thousand Gifts. I can’t recommend it or her blog highly enough. Her writing is poetic and uplifting and I think she makes living out gratitude an art.

My favorite thing about what Ann shares from her own life and faith journey is the need to embrace the undeserved in the everyday. In EVERY day.

I think that’s where I most often fall short.

DSC_1369

To be a saint is to be fueled by gratitude, nothing more and nothing less.” ~ Ronald Rolheiser, The Holy Longing.

By that definition, a saint I — more often than not — am not.

It’s pretty easy to be thankful for the big things . . . “Lord, thank you for this winning lottery ticket! Thank you, thank you, thank you.”

Much harder to embrace the gift of a lost child, a layoff, or significant illness. What about when it’s just an off day and the dogs won’t stop barking at the window, and the baby hasn’t slept all night and the washing machine just exploded and Niagra Falls is headed toward the your kitchen’s hardwood floors?

I don’t know about you, but those are the days I’m high on frustration and short on thanks. Then, I read this:

And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him. {Colossians 3:17 }

DSC_0752

In her own journey to greater gratitude, Ann discovered that challenging herself to making a list of 1000 graces was key to breaking through a season of depression where she felt she was drowning in the ordinary.

As it turns out, it’s often the ordinary that is most worthy of our gratitude, yet we so easily dismiss and miss it!

I want to encourage you to begin your own list and challenge yourself to fill it with 10 things each day. Over time, you’ll find it heightens your awareness to the smallest details of life, grace in disguise.

From my list . . .

a tumor shrinking

It’s a Girl!

warm soup on cold days

kids in costume

a bowl full of chocolate

just the right words

new pictures in frames

afternoon nap

the look that says, “I love you” without words

yard sale present

Now, it’s your turn! I’d love for you to comment with your own 10 thanks!!! And stop by Our tiny big Life sometime. I’d love to get to know you.

Oh, and thank you so much, Misty, for letting me be here today! Such a treat.

Show me some comment love!