Recipe: Southwestern-style vegetarian chili

So Bobby and I have been talking lately about wanting to eat a little healthier, and one of the ideas he had was to try going vegetarian for a week or two. I’ve sort of thought before that I could do it, and now’s really as good a time as any. Our plan is to get through this week and reevaluate; we’re hoping to make it to Christmas eating a primarily vegetarian menu. We may allow ourselves one night per week to have meat, since we already have some meat in the freezer.

One of our big challenges is what to cook, which makes sense, I guess. Tonight I decided to make up something based on what we had in the house by putting a spin on a recipe we’ve used before. The weather was perfect for chili, so I set out to make a veggie chili. And I really thought it turned out great, so I’m going to share my recipe! On the seasonings, I didn’t really measure while I was cooking it, so my estimations below may be a little off — season to taste!

Southwestern vegetarian chili

Ingredients:
3 tbsp olive oil
One large can crushed tomatoes
One small can black beans, drained
One small can dark red kidney beans, drained
One small can corn, drained
One small can diced tomatoes with chilis and lime, drained
1/2 large yellow onion, diced
1/2 packet taco seasoning
2 tsp cumin
2 handfuls (real scientific, I know) corn flour (Masa)
1 tbsp Slap Ya Mama seasoning (or a mixture of white pepper, red pepper and garlic powder)
Salt to taste
1 cup white rice, uncooked

Directions:
It’s so easy! The white rice will take the longest (about 20 minutes for non-instant rice), so go ahead and put it on (2 cups of water, bring to a boil, add rice, reduce head and cover for 20 minutes). Heat 2 tbsp olive oil in a large pot. Add the tomatoes, beans and corn. Mix in taco seasoning, cumin, corn flour, Slap Ya Mama seasoning and salt. Taste test to see what you think and add seasoning if it needs it! While this is simmering, heat the other tbsp of olive oil in a small frying pan and saute the onions. When they are ready, add them to the chili mixture. If the consistency is too soupy, add more corn flour to thicken it, tasting to ensure the chili doesn’t get too corny. Allow chili to simmer until rice is done. Serve the chili over the rice in bowls.

Hope you enjoy the recipe! It was definitely a great first venture into vegetarianism for us. Let me know how it turns out if you give it a try!

2 responses to “Recipe: Southwestern-style vegetarian chili

  1. yummy! sounds delicious! I am going to try this!

  2. Pingback: Vegetarian recipe: Black bean and corn alfredo pasta |

Show me some comment love!

