Vegetarian recipe: Black bean and corn alfredo pasta

Black bean and corn alfredo pastaEver since Bobby and I decided to go vegetarian for a few weeks (I first talked about that here), I’ve had to get a little more inventive with our meals. For me, not really being familiar with the ins and outs of a vegetarian diet, it’s a lot harder to build a meal around a vegetable than around a meat.

I’m sure that’s not the case for people who are full-time vegetarians, but it’s definitely a challenge for us to get into that mindset. So far the default seems to be black beans with either rice or pasta.

So this is a recipe that combines both of those. It happened that we already had a bag of dried black beans, so that played into the decision to use them, too. I should clarify that by vegetarian I mean no meat. We have been eating animal byproducts, like eggs or milk.

I’d been daydreaming about using this recipe for Olive Garden’s alfredo sauce that I found on Pinterest a while back. I had macaroni on-hand, so that’s what I  used for the pasta. I put the beans on to soak yesterday morning before I went to work, so they were ready to be cooked when I got home. I added salt and boiled them for probably about 30 minutes, then sauteed them in olive oil with a can of sweet corn kernel corn. I stirred in about 1/4 cup of cilantro at the end.

The beans were a bit al dente, which is how I like them, but Bobby opted for just the pasta and sauce and said he loved it.

I was a little hesitant about this combination of items, since the beans and corn are more Mexican or southwestern, and the sauce and pasta are Italian. But I ended up really liking how everything came together, enough that I will probably make this again. I think, for a non-vegetarian version, that I would add ham of some sort, or maybe prosciutto.

I’m obviously not a chef, but I definitely enjoyed the combo of flavors, and I think the dish was really successful overall!

3 responses to “Vegetarian recipe: Black bean and corn alfredo pasta

  1. Are you opposed to veggie burgers? I don’t mean the ones that are supposed to taste like a hamburger (’cause those are gross), but there are some that are REALLY good. My favorites are MorningStar farms’ Black Bean burger and they have some Italian one…. anyway, they’re really good and can help with meal ideas. I used to make Italian quesadillas using the Italian burgers w/ tomato sauce, cheese, & veggies. 🙂 There’s so much you can do vegetarian – veggie chili, really delicious sandwiches & pizzas, fancy baked potatoes, etc. Hope you have fun with it!!

    • I had a recipe for black beans burgers at one point, and I would love to try those again. I’ve never really have good luck with the frozen ones, but maybe I should give them another try!

  2. Pingback: Pinned: Tortellini and garden vegetable bake |

Show me some comment love!

