Recipe: SITS Girls potato soup

No joke, this potato soup recipe scared me a little bit.

It claimed it was quick and easy, but it contains seven. freakin’. cups. of. milk. I’ve never made any potato soup with that much milk in it. Typically my potato soups are broth based with a little bit of milk or heavy cream.

But I am sincerely glad I didn’t let that little bit of nervousness keep me from cooking this soup. Because it really was pretty easy, and it was one of the quickest — and most delicious — potato soups I’ve ever made!

potato soupI made a few small changes to the recipe (partially to not end up with an outrageous number of servings for just me and Bobby). Here’s the original from The SITS Girls, and here is what I did:

Ingredients:
1/3 cup butter
1 garlic clove, minced
1/3 cup unbleached flour
3 1/2 cups 2% milk (I would have used whole milk if I had it)
1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
2 large baking potatoes
1/4 cup olive oil
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1/2 cup sour cream
Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350. Poke holes in potatoes with a fork. Roll in olive oil, then add salt to skin. Place directly on oven rack and bake for about an hour (add a few extra minutes for extra-large potatoes).

Allow potatoes to cool somewhat, then cut into cubes. You can choose to remove the skin or leave it on. I chose to leave it on because I like the way it tastes, and it added a little salt and a little texture to the finished product.

Melt butter in a large pot at medium heat. Add garlic and saute until it’s slightly brown. Add the flour and stir until the mixture is smooth. Reduce heat to low and slowly stir in the milk and cream. Turn heat up to high and stir constantly until mixture is simmering, then add potatoes, continuing to stir until it begins to simmer again.

Reduce heat, cover and allow to simmer for 10 minutes. Add other ingredients, including salt and pepper, and stir until cheese is melted. Add extra cheese and bacon bits (we used fake bacon bits since we’re trying to go vegetarian for the time being) to the top of the soup once you have put it in bowls. You can also add some chopped green onions for a little crunch and extra flavor!

This was one of the creamiest potato soups I’ve ever had. Bobby even went so far as to say that it is the best he’s ever had. A definite winner, and so easy!

***************************************

Have you checked out The Family Math on Facebook? I’m trying to get to 100 likes before New Year’s!

*************************************

3 responses to “Recipe: SITS Girls potato soup

  1. Yummy sounds great!

  2. I am going to make this tonight! I am excited!!! 😀

Show me some comment love!

