Working with Style: Cold weather and tights (AKA Not my brightest move)

It got cold this week. So obviously that meant it was time to wear a dress and tights to work. On the day it snowed, of course.

Look folks, I’m in Alabama. This snow thing? Happens about once a year. My brain doesn’t know what to do when it happens.

This? Is what cold feet look like. Shoes and tights are both from Target.

Dress!

The dress I wore over the tights. Not the best picture, but you get the point. It’s from Old Navy.

Me, with scarf and coat

And this one is from one of the other days this week that it was cold. That time I had enough sense to wear a coat and a scarf. This is a glimpse of another of the scarves from my collection. This one is a thick, black wool scarf. I loved the way my hair looked this day because I actually took time to blow dry it!

I think these two different days really demonstrate what a difference there is when I wear my hair down vs. up. I think it looks so much better and more professional down, but I have such a hard time getting around to even blow-drying it in the mornings.

Anyone have any tips for having cute office hair without taking a ton of time in the mornings? Or do I just need to suck it up and use the blow-dryer and flat-iron? What products do you use to keep the frizzies away?

As always, I’m linking up with Brandee from Chill Mama Chill and  Liberating Working Moms for Working with Style! Be sure to stop by over there and check out the other posts!

12 responses to “Working with Style: Cold weather and tights (AKA Not my brightest move)

  1. I love the tights and flats! Those are my go-to items in the winter. I think a cute headband can dress up a ponytail. It is annoying having to dry and straighten hair! I dread getting ready sometimes just because of the amount of time it takes.

    • I actually ordered a headband earlier this week from an online seller, so I’m eager to give it a try. I typically feel a little silly wearing headbands, though, but I’m going to try to get past that!

  2. Wash your hair at night & use a little dry shampoo in the morning to perk it up! That’s what I was doing when my hair was longer…. the other option is to cut it as short as mine! 😉

  3. You gotta get boots girl! Fun to link with you this week

    • I have terrible luck with boots! I think it’s probably because I’m a total cheapskate, and the good pairs are more than I tend to spend on shoes. Plus, living in Alabama, the number of days I would actually wear them each year would be somewhat limited.

      I need to just find someone to give me a free pair of awesome boots and fit me properly and are comfortable and weather-appropriate for where I live. Anybody??

    • I just use Tresemme – you can get it at Target/Wal-Mart/wherever in the shampoo aisle! 🙂

      And I agree on boots – they are a lifesaver. I bought two cheap pairs (<$30/ea) this year and I have worn them 3-4 times a week. And since you work on campus, you can wear them year-round with your Guy Harvey t-shirt and Nike running shorts! 😉

      • The Guy Harvey/running shorts thing seriously made me laugh. I looked on the shampoo aisle at Target last night but didn’t see it. Maybe now that I know what brand it’ll be easier to find!

  4. I’m so with you on the hair thing…most of the time I wear it pulled back because it is so much work to wear it down. I have this weird semi-curly/wavy, mostly frizzy hair that happens to also be SUPER thick…as in, even blow drying it takes almost 20 minutes…then I have to straighten it on top of that! But I agree with you, when I do actually take the time to wear it down I feel so much better about the way I look. I started using this John Freida, frizz-ease finishing cream that actually goes on after it’s all dried and straightened…it seems to really help! I love that picture of you in your nice warm jacket and scarf, by the way!!

    • Thanks, Katherine! I’ve seen that John Frieda stuff before at Target and wondered how it works, so maybe I’ll pick some up! My hair is kind of like yours except it’s fine and on the thin side (especially now after having the baby … why couldn’t I keep my pregnancy hair?! It was so amazing!). If I just blow-dry I tend to have a lot of frizzies and static, especially in cold weather, but if I flat-iron, it’s basically stuck to my head by the end of the day. I need balance!!!

  5. I shower at night (either right before or right after the kiddo’s bedtime), let it air dry. In the morning, if it needs spiffing, I take a flat iron to it. I should try some finishing cream or dry shampoo! Thanks for putting this out there. Got some great ideas! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Working with Style: Taking advice edition |

Show me some comment love!

