Working with Style: Taking advice edition

Last week, I asked for advice on jazzing up my work hairstyles a bit, and I had some really great suggestions. So I decided to give a couple of them a shot, and here are the results!

Hair minus frizz

Katherine suggested that I give John Frieda Frizz-Ease cream a try for dealing with frizzies when I blow dry my hair. I checked out the product line at Target and picked out a spray-on anti-frizz solution rather than the cream. I have pretty fine hair, so I wanted something that wouldn’t weigh it down.

I sprayed the Frizz-Ease on after towel-drying and combing my hair and then dried it. I also sprayed on a bit of Head Rush shine spray from Tigi to give my hair a little extra shine.

The Frizz-Ease worked fairly well. It didn’t completely eliminate the frizz, but my hair definitely  stayed smoother for longer, and it totally didn’t weigh it down, which is a big deal for me.

Note: My hair is not as red as it appears in that photo. It’s pretty brown, actually.

Headband 1

Headband 2

Another great suggestion came from Kristy, who said if I don’t have time to dry my hair and wear it up, I should give a headband a shot.

Interestingly enough, I had actually just ordered a headband from 25 Design after Katie at Sluiter Nation bragged on how great her products are on her Christmas gift ideas post. And I am super pleased with the product I received.

The headband was $9, which is actually probably a little less than you’d pay in a specialty boutique here. I perused the headbands at Charming Charlie last night, and most of them were around $9.95.

The rosettes are adorable, and I love her selection of colors. The headband part is actually comfortable, which is a major concern for me. 25 Design also has some really cute baby and kid headbands, plus jewelry for adults, so be sure to check it out. I am totally eyeballing the Kristin Rosette necklace.

The one suggestion from last week I haven’t had a chance to try yet is dry shampoo, and I’m hoping I’ll be able to give that a shot sometime in the coming weeks! And if you have other suggestions for simplifying/shortening my morning routine, I would love to hear them!

**********************************

As always, I’m linking up with Liberating Working Moms for Working with Style! Be sure to stop by over there and check out the other posts!

6 responses to “Working with Style: Taking advice edition

  1. Tracy @Liberating Working Moms

    Love the headband! I think you’ve talked me into purchasing one. So glad you are digging our Working With Style link up 🙂 Your support is always appreciated 🙂

  2. I have a 25 Design headband too! I need to wear it more often!! I like the bright colors you chose for yours. I’ve found the John Freida cream works just like you said…it doesn’t completely eliminate frizz, but it does help. And my hair needs all the help it can get! 🙂

    • You should totally wear it more! They are so cute! My hair is … ugh, it’s a mess. I need a haircut so bad, but I’ve fallen into that terrible busy-mommy trap.

  3. Whop! Loving that headband, Yay for pops of color!

    • You helped give me the courage to actually wear it instead of letting it sit on the counter in my bathroom until I just ended up giving it away. 🙂

Show me some comment love!

