Thankful Series: It’s more than just an attitude

Thankful series

This is the last post of the Thankful series, so today I’m talking about my feelings on thankfulness. I’ve really enjoyed reading all the different perspectives in the past weeks.

It’s interesting how much my perspective on gratitude has changed this year. So much has happened, and the most important thing I think I’ve realized is that gratitude is so much more than just an attitude.

It’s a necessity for survival.

The Family MathThis year I’ve had to learn to find something good in the worst circumstances.

  • My dad’s illness meant he had to go to the hospital in Birmingham, but that meant I was able to see him when I was too pregnant to travel more than an hour away from home.
  • Noah was in the NICU for a week after he was born, but I was grateful we were able to feed him and touch him, even while he was in a warming unit.
  • My dad never got to meet Noah, but thanks to technology, he did get to see a picture, and I was able to talk with him on the phone before he passed away.
  • A tornado destroyed a huge part of the town where I leave just weeks after Noah was born, but it missed our house, and we had friends who were willing to take us in until our electricity came back on.
  • I have battled postpartum depression and postpartum anxiety, but I have a husband who has shown how much he loves and supports me through it all.
  • I got mono, but it forced me to get much-needed rest.

I could continue, but I’m sure you get the point. The amount of bad stuff that’s happened this year has been pretty tremendous, but finding a little good in everything — a little something to be thankful for — has kept me going.

Here’s to 2012 being a better year with even more to be thankful for.

*************************************

Missed a post in the Thankful Series? You can catch up on them here.

Show me some comment love!

