It’s a new year, and I have goals, dadgummit!

Gratuitous family photo

I’m not big on resolutions, but I do like goals, so when I started thinking about what I wanted to accomplish in 2012, I immediately started making a list of goals.

Some people might say this is semantics, but mentally, I feel better just calling them goals! I think the difference is that I feel like resolutions sort of have to be confined to one calendar year, whereas goals that aren’t met can be extended into the next year. Hopefully that won’t have to happen, but it lessens the pressure for me!

I decided to take five areas that were important to me and establish three goals per area. I’m far too good at overwhelming myself, so setting some limits was a good idea.

Without further ado, my goals for 2012:

At Home
Try out at least one new recipe each week
Create and stick to a chore chart
Spend 15 minutes per night cleaning before bed
Money/budget
Save $1,000 by the end of the year
Pay off dentist bill by the end of the year (short version: I had to have some major dental work done a few years ago, and I’m still paying for it!)
Develop and maintain a good budgeting and bill-paying system

At Work
Submit at least one freelance pitch per month
Finish strategic communication plan at my primary workplace and begin implementation
Submit at least one piece of work for a professional award

For the Blog
Move to wordpress.org
Design it using purchased framework so that I like the way it looks
Blog at least 75% of days in 2012 (274 out of 365 days)

Personal
Lose 30 pounds
Read 2 books per month
Complete one homemade/craft project per month

I’m linking up this post with Liberating Working MomsWorking Mom Resolutions post. Stop by there to check out what other working mamas are going to be working on in 2012!

12 responses to “It’s a new year, and I have goals, dadgummit!

  1. I dig how you split it up into life categories. I’m think of doing that too…when planning and such 🙂

    • It really helps! Of course, my personal list is a lot more complex than this, with subcategories and such, but this is the non-intimidating, blog-friendly version. 🙂

  2. Good for you! What a great list! I need to set some goals myself.

    • Thanks, Chrissy! I loved your idea on your blog, too, about picking out something you were proud of from 2011. It was a tough year for me, so it’s good to remember that there were some really great things about it, too!

  3. I enjoyed your post and the others posted at Liberating Working Moms so much that I decided to participate.

  4. Very ambitious! I am envious of all the detail. I also love the way you split life into categories and that you called them goals rather than resolutions. I do the same thing! Good luck!

  5. I really like the categorization as well! I left mine all sort of personal. But actually putting into words the non-family stuff is great – it reduces stress, which puts you in better mental space to do the family stuff! 🙂
    Moving to WordPress & spending 15 minutes daily cleaning are on my list for after I finish my Masters. I’ll probably do a mid-year resolutions or something. I’ll definitely come back here for ideas! 🙂

  6. Great list Misty. WordPress.org was my resolution last year. Totally worth it!!

    • Thanks, Brandy! I’m looking forward to switching over … just waiting for a freelance check to come through so I can buy the framework and start building!

  7. Those are some great goals! And because I’m such a sucker for lists, I love that you broke them down into categories too. 🙂 One of my personal goals this year is to save more money too. I agree with Brandy, the wordpress.org is totally worth it!

  8. Yep, I’m echoing everyone here that I love how you broke it up. It makes it look so…achievable:) I like your blog goals, I might borrow them!

Show me some comment love!

