In which I profess my undying love for kale

So I have a food problem.

I can’t eat spinach. You don’t want to know the details, but just trust me. It’s a no-go. And it’s a little sad, because I love the way it tastes. Plus it’s in approximately half the recipes in the world.

So I was delighted when I was introduced to kale. It’s a pretty decent substitute for spinach in a lot of recipes (more so the cooked ones than the ones that call for raw spinach). And it also holds its own in a lot of kale-centric recipes.

I found a huge bag of it on sale just after the new year, so we have been eating kale like nobody’s business. I wanted to share my favorite way to prepare it as a side and also a really great recipe I tried with it recently.

Sauteed kale with bacon (you know I love me some bacon)
Serves 2

Ingredients:
Two large handfuls of kale
One garlic clove, minced
Two shallots, chopped (you can also substitute onion, but I prefer shallots)
Two slices of thick, center-cut bacon, cut into hunks
Cooking spray

Directions:
Spray your saute pan with cooking spray as the pan heats. Cook bacon until near done, then add garlic. Once the bacon is approaching the crispy stage, add the shallots. Once those have gotten tender, add the kale. Cook to the desired consistency of the kale. I prefer mine wilted but still with a little texture to it.

The other recipe is one I adapted from The Pioneer Woman. It’s a take on zuppa toscana (Olive Garden, anyone).

Sausage, kale and potato soup

Sausage, potato and kale soup
Serves 4

Ingredients:
2 bunches Kale, Picked Over, Cleaned, And Torn Into Bite Sized Pieces
8 small red potatoes, sliced thin
1/2 yellow onion, chopped
1 pound ground Italian Sausage
1/2 teaspoon Red Pepper Flakes (more To Taste)
2 cups Low Sodium Chicken Broth
1 1/2 cups Whole Milk
1 cup Heavy Cream
Fresh Or Dried Oregano
Black Pepper To Taste

Instructions:
Boil potatoes until tender, then drain and set aside. Brown the Italian sausage in a large boiler or pot. Stir in the red pepper, oregano, broth, milk and heavy cream. Add the potatoes and then stir in the kale. Simmer for about 15 minutes. Serve topped with grated Parmesan.

Are you a kale fanatic, too? I’d love to hear some of your favorite recipes?

3 responses to “In which I profess my undying love for kale

  1. I just chop it up and sauté it in olive oil with a little pressed garlic and salt. Sometimes I add a tiny bit of sesame oil and soy sauce if I want a bit of a different flavor. Probably could use some onions, too. Yeah, I’m buying kale next time I go shopping.

  2. Sesame oil sounds like a good addition!

  3. Pingback: Month in Review: January |

Show me some comment love!

