SOC Sunday: The winter doldrums

#SOCsunday

As usually, I am linking up with my friend Fadra for Stream of Consciousness Sunday. Today’s Writing Prompt: How does winter make you feel and what do you do with those feelings?

**********************************

It’s funny, I was just thinking about this yesterday when I took Noah out for a walk. Mostly that I can hardly wait for summer. Then I thought about the heat and humidity of June, July and August in Alabama and decided that it’s really spring I’m looking forward to.

We’ll be celebrating Noah’s birthday. The weather will be warmer, and we’ll be able to go on walks every day unless it’s raining. Brighter days are ahead.

I’ve frequently thought of Counting Crows’ Long December throughout this winter. It has been a long, tough few months for me this time. It was my first winter and first holiday season without my dad, and it was tough. Add to that the fact that I’ve been dealing with postpartum depression for several months and also that I decided to try to come off my  meds, and it’s been a sort of trying season.

But for me that just makes spring seem that much brighter. Maybe I’m fooling myself into thinking it’ll be something better than it is, but that doesn’t stop me from looking forward to it. I think back to that fortune cookie I wrote about sometime in the past couple of weeks, the one that said I would have great joy when the flowers bloom.

I hope it’s true. I feel like the Long December is coming to a close for me, and I’m glad. Typically I don’t have as hard a time during the winter as I did this year, so I hope that next year will be different but that I’ll go into it having survived the hardest winter of my life and bearing more knowledge and strength because of it.

***********************************

This was my 5 minute Stream of Consciousness Sunday post. It’s five minutes of your time and a brain dump. Want to try it? Here are the rules…

  • Set a timer and write for 5 minutes.
  • Write an intro to the post if you want but don’t edit the post. No proofreading or spellchecking. This is writing in the raw.
  • Publish it somewhere. Anywhere. The back door to your blog if you want. But make it accessible.
  • Add the Stream of Consciousness Sunday badge to your post.
  • Link up your post at All Things Fadra.
  • Visit your fellow bloggers and show some love.
2 responses to “SOC Sunday: The winter doldrums

  1. Since I was diagnosed with PPD, winter has been the hardest season for me. The weather, the way the sun hides forever and a day behind gray…the couped in the house…sigh.
    But what I do do…is surround myself with pictures of spring. Sounds odd but it really helps. I take lots of pictures of flowers in my garden.
    It picks me up on those poopy days.
    You’re going to make it through. It’s almost there.

  2. Yay for making it to this point. You’ve made it through the hard part. And I’m with you. Summer is NOT appealing to me for the same reasons you mentioned. I’ll take a nice long Spring, please!

Show me some comment love!

