Working with Style: Uh-oh edition

I’ve had two recent frustrations with my work wardrobe.

One is just kind of silly, and I’m sure it’d be a quick fix for someone who knows how to sew. The other morning I put on my dark brown work slacks. I buttoned them. I grabbed for the zipper pulley … except there was no zipper pulley to grab. Somehow that part of the zipper had apparently come off at some point! So there would be no wearing the dark brown pants to work this week!

This wouldn’t be such a problem except for the other frustration: I’ve gained weight. I’m not sure if I gained over a matter of months while I was on antidepressants or that I’ve done more emotional eating since I’ve come off them. Regardless, my postpartum bod is not looking so hot these days. And having those dark brown pants taken out of the lineup (combined with how abysmally behind on laundry we’ve been) meant that I was really scrounging around to find something to wear.

Thankfully I have a few things that still fit and are at least somewhat flattering (pics and descriptions below), but I really have to do something about this weight gain because I am running out of clothes that fit. And judging by the number of clothes that are already a little snug or uncomfortable, I’m not far from needing to make the I’m-up-a-size shopping trip that most women dread.

I have been thinking about how to put a stop to the weight gain and get a little healthier, and I’m planning to post some thoughts later this week. In the meantime, I’d love to hear how you have dealt with a few extra pounds after having a baby (even if it was 10 months after having him — LIKE ME).

Here are my recent outfits (yes, I’m the dork taking my own picture in the mirror. Shut up.):

Working with Style 1-21

Pants: Lane Bryant
Black short-sleeved jacket: Lane Bryant
Gray shirt: Old Navy
Scarf: Gift from a friend

WWS Outfit - Dress and green cardi

 (This is the outfit I wore the day of the brown-pants incident)
Dress: Wal-mart
Green cardigan: Target
Tights: Target
Shoes: Clarks

WWS outfit - Purple sweater

Sweater: Target (Mossimo)
Tank: Target (Also Mossimo, I think)

**********************************

As usual, I’m linking up with Liberating Working Moms for this Working with Style post! Stop by there to check out Shannon’s first time hosting!

6 responses to “Working with Style: Uh-oh edition

  1. I love that green cardigan. You gotta love target. I’m also dealing with weight gain and lack of clothes. I’m going to be posting soon about my plan of action to fit exercise in. Thanks for linking up!

  2. I LOVE that first outfit! I’m a sucker for short sleeve jackets/blazers. Putting on some extra pounds is always tough, no matter what size you started at, and I don’t know if it’s like this for you, but for me, it was such a downward spiral from there…it took some major motivation to get back into healthy habits. It’s always tough to get started, but definitely worth it.

  3. Misty…. at least its only been 10 months. I did not start loosing my “baby weight” until my baby was 15. I just had no motivation. When I decided to loose weight I actually weight what I weighed right after having my bouncing baby boy.

    I am still loosing and it has been hard but not as hard as I thought. Feel free to look at my blog under the fitness tab to check out a few of my tips and tricks that are working for me.

  4. I think you’re a doll 😉
    I had issues with weight when I was put on remeron. I ate the same. I did the same activity. Yet I gained 12 pounds.
    When I stopped it, I lost it all.
    So I don’t know what to tell you.
    But you are rocking those clothes.
    Just sayin rawr 😉

  5. I love that first outfit! I’m from New York, so black and gray is pretty much my favorite in the wardrobe! As far as the weight gain after baby… geez. I was so unbelievably ill for 9 months that I couldn’t LOOK at food, so post-baby, I was like, “Give.me.ice.cream!” I try to find time to do some cardio just to avoid the size-up shopping trip!

    PS–I take my own pictures in the mirror, too 🙂

  6. I pretty much wear the same stuff all the time and just jazz it up with a different cardi or jewelry. I really need more clothes…

    I like!

Show me some comment love!

