Pinned: Nutella pound cake recipe review

If you know nothing else about me, you should understand that I. freakin’. love. NUTELLA.

I don’t have a whole Pinterest board dedicated to Nutella, but I might as well, as often as I repin Nutella-centric recipes. I follow people who do have Nutella boards, so I know it’s not just me.

This weekend, Bobby and I had Thanksgiving dinner with some friends, and I volunteered to make dessert. Dessert is sort of a comfort zone for me since I enjoy baking, and I had several recipes from Pinterest I’d been wanting to try. It came down to pumpkin-eggnog swirl cheesecake vs. Nutella pound cake, and the Nutella dessert won out.

Overall, the recipe wasn’t super complicated. It was a pretty basic cake batter, then you just layer with Nutella. I followed the recipe pretty much step-by-step, and my cake ended up with a sunken-in middle (see the picture to the right).

I’m not sure where I went wrong. I think it may have been that I put a little too much cake batter on the very bottom layer, and I probably swirled the batter and Nutella a little too much. The cake turned out super-chocolatey, as opposed to the picture on the original recipe page, which looks like pound cake with chunks of Nutella in it.

So, since the Nutella pound cake was extremely ugly (again, see that first picture), I decided to whip up a Nutella trifle cake! Since I already had the Nutella pound cake ready to go, the trifle part was super easy. Here’s a quick recipe for what I did:

Ingredients:
1 Nutella pound cake, crumbled (click for original recipe)
1 large packet of Jello instant chocolate pudding
3 cups of cold milk
16-oz. carton of heavy whipping cream
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup of mini chocolate chips (or topping of your choice — I also considered strawberries)

Instructions:
Combine sugar and heavy cream in a large mixing bowl and whip until it turns into whipped cream. I used my stand mixer on its highest setting for about 2 minutes for this.

Make the pudding according to the directions on the packet; this is where you’ll use the 3 cups of milk.

Lay down a layer of crumbled Nutella pound cake in a trifle dish. Add a layer of pudding and then a layer of whipped cream. Repeat. Top with mini chocolate chips (or whatever other topping you want).

So easy, and it ends up looking good and tasting delicious. I’d love to make this again! And if you enjoy my Pinterest recipe posts, be sure to check out my Food Stuffs board and my Just Desserts board!

5 responses to “Pinned: Nutella pound cake recipe review

  1. It was tasty but now I want to try the eggnog one too!

    • I love egg nog. Bobby does not. This leads to me drinking lots of egg nog around this time of year because I buy it, forgetting that he doesn’t drink it. Then, of course, I have to drink it all.

  2. I love nutella too, I want some.

  3. I love nutella! I’m a little sad I didn’t know about it while I was pregnant when I allowed myself to eat everything in sight. Now I try to restrain myself but with nutella, it is oh so hard!

    • One of my friends a few months ago had Nutella-dipped strawberries at her baby shower. Apparently it was one of her constant cravings, and it was AMAZING. And it was healthy because it involved fruit … right? 😉

Show me some comment love!